Monday (Shopping) Madness

October 18, 2010 at 9:19 pm (Etsy, Shopping) (, )

With the nearing holiday, I’ve been budgeting my money, and deciding what type of gifts to get my family and friends. It probably sounds weird but I usually start thinking about Christmas gifts in September. This way, I can better budget my money, and with the head start, I can order gifts online and have the time to customize them or get them fixed if for some reason they break or get lost. This might be a good thing to try if you’re low on cash and want to spread out your gifts and hate the holiday crowd. I HATE going to a store and having to push my way through crowds of people, get my toes squished by a large man’s gigantic shoes, or be elbowed in the head. (I’m short.)

So, if you’re like me, or are going to try it my way, you might want to start looking NOW, and figure out what you’re going to buy. I have decided for most of my family members if I’m going to buy online or at the store. Example: I’ve decided I’m going to buy my sister, mom and mother in law, something handmade from Etsy. I’ve even picked out my sister’s gift already. I know I’m going to buy my daughter’s gifts at a store. My priority would be to buy online since there is a wait time with made to order items and shipping. If the toy I’m buying my daughter is not at the store, I can ask an employee to find out when their next shipment of toys will be in and come back later since the stores near me are only a short distance away.

Now that all of this is out of the way. With buying online, especially with gifts for holidays, birthdays or a party of some sort (wedding, baby shower, etc), you MUST, MUST, MUST, read the shop’s policies no matter where it is. It’s important on Etsy, but also VERY important with other places such as a department store or Wal-Mart. Now, Wal-Mart is easy, you bring the receipt and the thing you bought and in almost all cases (in my experience), they’ll take it back for an exchange or refund. Also keep in mind what form of shipping the seller uses and roughly how long it’ll take. So be a smart online shopper!

Now, here are my new favorite Etsy items with click-able pictures.

 

Mohawk Woodbot by Woodplaneandsimple

 

 

Gummy Bear Soap by LoveLeeSoaps

 

 

Wax seal letter pendant from RitzyMisfit

 

 

Xbox replica soap from DigitalSoaps

 

Those are my picks for today. Happy shopping!

Leave a Reply

