Sunday Interview: AppleyEverAfter

November 28, 2010 at 8:56 am (Etsy D-Listers)

1. How’d you get started on Etsy?

One of my best friends is an artist and she started selling OOAK handbags on Etsy. I like to support her so I went to her page to check it out, and ended up falling in love with the entire site. I was mostly a buyer up until this past September, when I really started to focus on my shop. Creating jewelry and maintaining my shop has become such an escape for me from all the stressors of the outside world, and I honestly think that having it keeps me sane. I love art, I love to learn from other artists, and I love to make things.

2. What was your inspiration for your shop?

So, so many things. I carry around a small notebook and pen everywhere I go because inspiration will hit me at the most unexpected times.
When I’m thinking about a new design, I think about how I would like it. I’ll play around with color combinations, weight, chain lengths, etc to make sure that it’s something I would love to purchase for myself. Sometimes I’ll wear a new design around my house for an afternoon to make sure it’s comfortable. If I don’t like it, I can’t expect anyone else to.
I used to make beaded jewelry all the time from about 3rd grade until my senior year of high school. It’s been a lot of fun to pull out all those old supplies and find new ways to use them.

3. What’s your favorite shop item and why?

It’s a toss-up between the aqua aura pendant necklace and the large aqua briolette necklace. I love light blue hues and wearing these colors makes me happy…I can’t explain it. I also love how they are both simple pieces but make a statement with their size and coloring. You could easily wear either of them with anything.


4. How do you unwind when you’re not creating?

I cuddle with my dog Ginny. I swear she can sense my emotions because when I’m stressed she’ll come to me and put her head on my knee and I instantly start to feel better. She is better at comforting me than my husband is! I don’t get a lot of down time because I’m working on my Masters degree right now, but when I get the chance I like to lay in bed, surrounded my my favorite foods, and watch TV marathons of House or CSI.

5. What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?

Ooh, good question. Either red velvet with cream cheese frosting or lemon with vanilla butter cream, topped with coconut.

6. What was your worst job?

The job I quit in July is the worst I’ve ever had. It’s the reason I went back to school. I was a case manager for a nonprofit behavioral health center and it was nonstop stress because my caseload was way too high and people yelled at me all day long.

7. What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid? As an adult, if you stumble upon it while channel surfing now would you stop & watch?

Doug. I used to freaking love Doug. I also watched a lot of Rocko’s Modern Life and Ren and Stimpy, which are funny to watch now because I understand the dirty, dark humor.

 

8. What’s your fantasy job?

My fantasy job is to be my own boss and make beautiful things all day.

9. Do you have a secret guilty pleasure?

I love trashy reality TV shows. When I have the house to myself, I will watch those shows for most of the day. They suck me in! That and putting sugar on almost anything. We’re talking serious, large amounts of sugar.

10. List 3 things you are so obsessed with it is torture to ever say no to.

Sweets, playing on the internet allllll day, and Sephora. I’m a total Sephora whore.

11. List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops.

Rozzie- I bought one of my favorite necklaces from this shop. Great jewelry- both and simple and pretty.
http://www.etsy.com/shop/rozzie?ref=pr_shop_more

Robert Renfield- I bought the most amazing painting from him over the summer and he also does Tarot readings.
http://www.etsy.com/shop/robertrenfield?ref=pr_shop_more

Lemon Sweet- I have two of her necklaces and I wear them constantly.
http://www.etsy.com/shop/Leslie23

12. Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?

I honestly don’t have a favorite author. I read a lot, but picking just one person is too tough for me. I bend pages, use whatever scrap paper is laying around, AND I’ll underline parts that I really like and write in the margins. I like to have a collection of well-loved books.

13. If money was no object and you can live wherever you want, where would that be?

Jackson, Wyoming. It’s my favorite place in the world. My grandparents and some of my cousins live there and I used to spend every Christmas and summer there. It’s so beautiful, quaint, and clean. Seriously, there is no litter in the entire city. It’s unreal.

14. What is your best childhood memory?

Almost all of my favorite childhood memories are from my trips to Wyoming. We would ride our bikes to the neighborhood general store (yes, general store) to stock up on candy and then eat it until we were sick. It was such a lovely, carefree time…


15. How would you describe your work style?

Sporadic? Unorganized? I just pick up some supplies and go to town. Sometimes I’ll work for hours, sometimes I won’t work on anything for weeks. I can’t do it unless I feel that pull. Since this is still a hobby for me, I have to keep it fun.

16. If you could choose any one superhero power, what would it be and why?

The ability to read minds because I constantly worry about what others think of me. Also, I’m studying to be a counselor so it would be a really convenient way to work with people!

17. Who are your heroes?

My grandfather is my hero. He and my grandma started with nothing and then he began building companies and has had a very fulfilling career. I hope to feel that proud of whatever it is I end up being when I grow up.

18. What would you do if you won the lottery?

Freak out about bad luck and uncontrollable spending and stick it all in a savings account. I know, that’s really boring. Sorry 😦

19. What was the last movie you watched? Was it good?

The last movie I watched was the second Sex and the City movie. It wasn’t good, but it wasn’t horrible. It served its intended purpose.

20. If you knew what you know now, when you first opened your store, what would you do differently?

I’d keep making things, especially when I had the supplies laying around. A full shop is a happy shop, and since making new pretty things makes me happy I try to keep this in mind whenever I feel like giving up- it’s not the money, it’s the love of creating. At least for me.

You can find AppleyEverAfter here:

FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/AppleyEverAfter

Etsy:  http://www.appleyeverafter.etsy.com

Blog: http://appleyeverafter.blogspot.com/

Twitter: http://twitter.com/appleyeverafter

1 Comment

  1. Exquisite Crystals said,

    Aqua aura quartz crystals are clear/cloudy crystals which have been enhanced with pure gold; the molecules of pure gold adhere to the natural electric charge which surrounds the quartz crystal, and cannot removed by rubbing or by scraping. The aqua aura quartz crystals combine both the properties of quartz and the properties of gold to produce a very intense energy. Aqua aura quartz has been used to activate other minerals for healing and to cleanse and sooth the aura. An amazingly beautiful and powerful throat chakra stone!

Leave a Reply

