Sunday Interview: TheFeistyRedhead

December 5, 2010 at 10:10 am (Etsy D-Listers)

1. How’d you get started on Etsy?
I’ve been a buyer on Etsy for several years now and always wanted to open my own shop. I became friends with someone who had a shop and she told me to take the plunge and open one. I discussed it with my boyfriend and ultimately signed up for Etsy after receiving a text from him that said: “Do it. Sign up for an Etsy shop right now.”

2. What was your inspiration for your shop?
When I started listing items, I was really conscious of including vibrant colors. I also want to make things that I would wear and give customers options for customization. Customization is one of my favorite things about Etsy.

3. What’s your favorite shop item and why?
The wool-cashmere blend cowls. I used this yarn last year and fell in love with it. Now I can’t make enough of them! I like the way the yarn feels when it slides through my hands as I’m knitting. Butter!


4. How do you unwind when you’re not creating?
On weekends, I get together with friends and we play music. It always makes me feel happy, even if I still make squeaking sounds when I play my fiddle.

5. What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?
Peanut butter cake and frosting with the jelly squirted into the middle. No contest.

6. What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid? As an adult, if you stumble upon it while channel surfing now would you stop & watch?
I loved watching Rugrats on Nickelodeon. I felt a connection to Chuckie because of his red hair and long list of phobias. (Guy on the oatmeal box? Totally scary.) I would definitely watch Rugrats today!


7. Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?
I like reading biographies. The new Paul McCartney biography is on my Christmas wishlist. I grab anything handy to mark my place!

8. If money was no object and you can live wherever you want, where would that be?
If money were no object, I’d stay right here in New York! Hopefully I’d have a bigger apartment, though…

9. What is your best childhood memory?
On Sunday nights, my family had a tradition of eating hamburgers and milkshakes in the living room picnic-style while we watched America’s Funniest Home Videos. Every time I have a burger and shake, I think about those Sundays.


10. How would you describe your work style?
At my day job, I like to stay really busy and have lots of work piled on me at once. When I create for Etsy, however, I like to take my time and enjoy what I’m doing. That’s impossible during the holiday season!

11. What would you do if you won the lottery?
I’d pay off my student loans, buy enough yarn to fill a swimming pool, put some in savings, then use the rest of it to take my family on vacation.

 

12. What was the last movie you watched? Was it good?
I saw the newest Harry Potter movie and it was fantastic! I’ll be sad when the last movie is released.

13. If you knew what you know now, when you first opened your store, what would you do differently?
I was a slacker when I first opened my store. An Etsy admin once said to me, “Your shop is what you put into it.” To a degree, I think that’s true. If I could go back to last year, I would list new items more often and be more aggressive about my social network presence.

You can find TheFeistyRedhead Here:

Shop: http://TheFeistyRedhead.etsy.com
Facebook: http://facebook.com/TheFeistyRedhead
Blog:http://liveandletcraft.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

