Wednesday Worries

January 19, 2011 at 2:12 am (Etsy)

I suppose a lot of people can call me a total and complete worry wart. I would say that statement is fairly accurate. I worry about the what-ifs and what-do-I-dos often.

I’ve been trying to catch up from the Christmas rush. The golden number of 100 items in the shop. I’ve been hovering around 90 lately. I add something, then sell something else, and can never seem to catch up with my workload. I guess I didn’t realize when I first opened my shop that I would have to do literally EVERYTHING for it. Running an Etsy store IS a full time job- if you want to be successful. I’m not saying, quit your day job and spend every waking moment at the computer, in your picture-taking area, in your workshop/crafting area, and do nothing but create and do Etsy… But, don’t be fooled into thinking this won’t be work! I’m realizing now that what I thought would only be taking an hour or two, three tops per day, is like having a full-time job. The real key to success is adapting, and drive.

My best advice to keep stress-free, is to keep up-t0-date lists and keep track of the supplies you have, the ones you need, keep your ideas in order and write everything down! If I didn’t write things down, I’d forget it in 2 seconds and run around like a chicken with it’s head cut off trying to remember, or upset because I forgot something I needed at the store while I was there.

So! Keep track of your supplies and things you need! DO NOT wait until you’re completely out of something before you get more of it (if you really need it, such as envelopes for shipping). There is nothing worse than needing something and not being able to get it or not having it.

So, stay organized, stay sane, and don’t worry too much! :]

Leave a Reply

