Feature Friday: NELDesigns

April 22, 2011 at 12:05 pm (Etsy D-Listers, Feature Friday)

I have been totally in love with jewelry and definitely think simple is good! My friend over at NELdesigns did an interview with me!

I asked her to tell me a little bit about herself, her craft, and how she got started. Her answer?

“I’ve been making jewelry for years, but it wasn’t until recently I decided to start my own line of jewelry with a specific design aesthetic and style. I wanted to make a brand and stick with it. My jewelry designs are inspired by Coco Chanel in the 1920’s. Chanel’s designs were simple, elegant, but also edgy. She used pearls, chains, black and white patterns, lace, and straight lines. When people come to my Etsy shop or see my blog I want them to experience a little French boutique. ”

The Sophia Necklace

I asked what keeps her motivated!

“Knowing that I am doing something I love and enjoy and making sure I put myself in a position where I am being inspired to make new designs. ”

Lauren Tear-drop Necklace Design

When I asked what her most herished handmade possession was, she said this.

“My husband took me to Quebec for my b-day recently. We went into one of the best boutiques I’ve been in; I could have bought the whole place! But instead I bought a handmade flower pin/hair piece. This handmade possession is a great reminder of me and my husbands love for Quebec City and the wonderful time we had together there. ”

Gold and Pearl Fringe Necklace

And, What advice do you have for those who are new to handmade/crafting?

“Always find a way to be better. Look for ways to enhance your craft and make it more excellent. Also, money is great and very helpful of course, but if your mindset is all about making money, you’ll get discouraged easily. Lastly, stick to your design aesthetic and philosophy, even if no one likes it; show people the worth of your designs. ”

Black Lace and Gold Chain Necklace 2 in 1

Her favorite Etsy sellers are Flapperdoodle and FreshyFig.
www.etsy.com/shop/FreshyFig
www.etsy.com/shop/flapperdoodle

You can find NELdesigns here:

Etsy: www.neldesigns.etsy.com

Blog: http://www.designsbynel.blogspot.com/

Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/pages/NEL/146351578754384

Leave a Reply

