Baby, be a simple kind of man…

June 9, 2011 at 5:28 am (Crochet, Etsy D-Listers)

I’m unable to sleep. So, here I am typing up this blog. I wanted to introduce my new line of Men’s beanies a looooong time ago. I guess life hit me and I didn’t ever get around to it. If you’ve been following my blog then you know my father passed away in February, if you haven’t, then you know it now. I made a line of men’s hats last winter that I have been working on. I was trying to make THE PERFECT hat for my dad. This blog is gonna get kinda personal, so sit back and get comfy!

Some background info: My father was diagnosed with Hodgkin’s Lymphoma last year and going through chemo treatments, like 80% of the rest of chemo patients, he lost his hair. He wouldn’t admit it, but he was really embarrassed about being bald. He worked outside a lot and I was terrified of him getting sick so I made him a hat- actually, I made him MANY hats because he would complain about how he hated the color, too itchy, too long, too short, hated stripes, doesn’t like red, brown didn’t match his uniform. (He let me make about 6 or 7 hats for him before he came out and said he wanted a navy blue one.)

Well, tonight, I’ve been listening to Shinedown which is one of my favorite bands. When I was 16, Dad took me to a Shinedown concert at Summerfest in Milwaukee. BEST NIGHT OF MY LIFE. We went again the following 2 years. I was old enough by then to drive myself, but Dad would always weasel his way into the plans. He’d say, “That music suuucks!” but later, he would RAVE about how great it was. We would go to the family reunion a few weeks after the concerts and he’d spend 15 minutes telling everyone how great it was and how much fun he had. Shinedown did a cover of the song “Simple Man”, and upon listening to it this past Feb. I realized, my father was a simple guy, he always took his time and really loved life. So, I named his hats “The Simple Man Beanies”. After all, they’re simple. No complex designs, solid color and all. Dad’s favorite kind of hat! 🙂

I wish he would have been around to see the hat line I made just for him, though, I know he’d be proud. I have a few posted on Etsy, but since life caught up with me, I only have a few, so forgive me. I just felt like NOW was the right time to post them and the story behind it. Here they are! By the way, this is my little brother posing. hehe

The Simple Man Beanie in Black

The Simple Man Beanie in Dark Red

The Simple Man Beanie in Navy Blue

8 Comments

  1. Mandy Howerton said,

    Beautiful story! I love the Simple Man Beanies!

  2. lizbethsgarden said,

    What a great story!

  3. Jenny (BlackMagicStudio) said,

    I love the story and the hats. Very well written.

  4. Marie (TheWhirlwind) said,

    Love the inspired story. It’s so great that you can create a wonderful line from it 🙂

  5. JudysDesigns said,

    Your touching story and inspiration from such a wonderful dad is touching. Thanks for sharing it with us and I hope you have great success with this line. I like the design too.

  6. Lizz Mildon said,

    Good for you hun! ❤

  7. Denise Finnerty said,

    What a wonderful write up on your Dad and your hats. I’m sure he would be proud.

  8. MegsCrochetJewels said,

    Love it!! Great story!

Leave a Reply

