Feature Friday: FiberPuppy

October 7, 2011 at 7:55 am (Etsy, Etsy D-Listers, Feature Friday)

My friend FiberPuppy did this awesome interview with me! Check it out! Photos are clickable too! Links at the bottom. 😀

1. What was your inspiration for your shop?

I’m inspired by texture and design. I love to be able to evoke a critter with just a few needlefelted lines or a shape.

I’d say I’m a think out the box kind of gal. Most of what I’ve learned is self taught. I’m slightly dyslexic, so I often do things in unconventional ways. This is a huge inspiration as I’m not confined by “the way it should be made”. I often combine techniques from different mediums. For example many of my critter hat ears are made by using origami-folding techniques prior to felting.

2. What’s your favorite shop item and why?
Oh it’s usually the last new thing I made. At the moment it is the lion hat. I had a friend who is a member of the lions club ask me to make one and it just makes me smile when I see it.

Blue Shibori Bobble Lace Felted Scarf

3. What’s your favorite kind of cupcake?
Chocolate fleur de sel. How’s that for fancy pants. LOL

4. What’s your favorite cartoon as a kid. As an adult, if you stumble upon it while channel surfing now would you stop & watch?
Oh this so dates me but I loved Josie and the Pussycats, Rocky and Bullwinkle and of course Sesame Street. I still find myself humming the noony noony noo song the cartoon typewriter from Sesame Street used to sing. I will totally stop and watch Sesame Street. It’s hilarious to see the famous people they get on there.

5. Do you have a secret guilty pleasure?
I’m addicted to 80’s new wave music. I have my computer in my studio perpetually set to KROQ. I listen to it constantly when I craft. My husband hates it so it’s the only time I indulge.

Felted Red Devil Hat

6. List 3 things you are so obsessed with it is torture to ever say no to.
My coon hound Greta and her soulful eyes are pretty hard to deny. She’s not allowed in the yarn barn (my studio) so I’m always running outside to get some dog love. It’s probably a good thing as I can get obsessed.

Other than her, I’d say anything to do with cooking, gadgets, cookbooks, spices. I love to cook. It’s the only thing that kept me sane during lawschool. Cooking is the only art that uses all 5 senses.

7. List 3 of your favorite Etsy shops.
This changes constantly and it’s usually things I neither need nor can afford but lately I’ve been obsessed with the bathtub couches from ruffhouse art. I also adore the topography art from Crafterall. Oh and I have to give a shoutout to Dressgreen. Their lotions and skin products are simply heavenly.

Molly Molar Felted Toothfairy Pillow

8. Do you have a favorite author? When you read, do you use a proper bookmark, bend the page, or grab anything handy to mark your place?

I’m a huge Science Fiction/fantasy fan. I read constantly, but my latest obsession is Michelle Sagara West.

I’m married to a book publisher who is very very careful to always use a bookmark, but I have to admit I’m a dogearer to his dismay. Well I just got a kindle so I guess that’s not an issue.

Find FiberPuppy:
Etsy: www.fiberpuppy.etsy.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/Fiberpuppy

Leave a Reply

